About the American College of Surgeons

The American College of Surgeons is a scientific and educational association of surgeons that was founded in 1913 to improve the quality of care for the surgical patient by setting high standards for surgical education and practice.

The letters FACS (Fellow of the American College of Surgeons) after a surgeon’s name mean that the surgeon’s education and training, professional qualifications, surgical competence, and ethical conduct have passed a rigorous evaluation and have been found to be consistent with the high standards established and demanded by the College.

About the NC Chapter of American College of Surgeons

The North Carolina Chapter functions through the coordinated activity of its individual members, for the support and improvement of the practice of surgery in the state. With the help of an executive director, the Chapter relies completely on the energy and initiative of interested North Carolina surgeons. We welcome the participation of any interested individuals.

NC Chapter of ACS Leadership

Executive Committee

David W. Grantham, MD, FACS


Perry Shen, MD, FACS


Anthony Charles, MD, MPH, FACS

Immediate Past President

Danielle Walsh, MD, FACS, FAAP

2nd Year Past President

Ranjan Sudan, MBBS, FACS


Amy Hildreth, MD, FACS

Secretary/Treasurer - Elect

Board of Governors

Timothy Farrell, MD, FACS

J. Wayne Meredith, MD, FACS

Anthony Andrew Meyer, MD, FACS

Terry Sarantou, MD, FACS

Raj Pruthi, MD, FACS

Governor, Society of Academic Urologists

Board of Regents

Anthony Atala, MD, FACS

Mark Weissler, MD, FACS

Board of Regents Past Member

At Large Member

Raghid Bitar, MD, FACS

Shachar "Jake" Laks, MD, FACS

Michael Schurr, MD, FACS

Committee on Trauma

David Jacobs, MD, FACS

Commission on Cancer

Richard L. White, MD, FACS

Resident Representative

Brett T. Starr, MD

Legislative Committee

Matthew Martin, MD, FACS

Nominating Committee

Anthony Charles, MD, MPH, FACS


Keri Seymour, DO

Bariatric Liaison

J. Wayne Meredith, MD, FACS

General Surgery Liaison

David L. Kelly, MD, FACS

Neurosurgery Liaison

Sharon Fekrat, MD, FACS

Ophthalmology Liaison

Gary R. Kuzma, MD, FACS

Orthopedic Liaison

Trevor Hackman, MD, FACS

Otolaryngology Liaison

J. Duncan Phillips, MD, FACS

Pediatric Surgery Liaison

Ronald Lee Davis, III, MD, FACS

Urology Liaison

AWS Representative

Leah Sieren, MD, FACS

Military Representative

Captain Henry Lin, MD, FACS

Young Fellow Representative

David Melon, MD, FACS