About the American College of Surgeons

The American College of Surgeons is a scientific and educational association of surgeons that was founded in 1913 to improve the quality of care for the surgical patient by setting high standards for surgical education and practice.

The letters FACS (Fellow of the American College of Surgeons) after a surgeon’s name mean that the surgeon’s education and training, professional qualifications, surgical competence, and ethical conduct have passed a rigorous evaluation and have been found to be consistent with the high standards established and demanded by the College.

About the NC Chapter of American College of Surgeons

The North Carolina Chapter functions through the coordinated activity of its individual members, for the support and improvement of the practice of surgery in the state. With the help of an executive director, the Chapter relies completely on the energy and initiative of interested North Carolina surgeons. We welcome the participation of any interested individuals.

NC Chapter of ACS Leadership

Executive Committee

Anthony Charles, MD, MPH, FACS

President

Email:  anthony_charles@med.unc.edu

David Wayne Granthan, MD, FACS

President-Elect

Email: dgrantham@pinehurstsurgical.com

Danielle Walsh, MD, FACS

Immediate Past President

Email: walshd@ecu.edu

Michael Chang, MD, FACS

2nd Year Past President

Email:  Mchang@wakehealth.edu

Ronald L. Davis, MD, FACS

3rd Year Past President

Email: rodavis@wakehealth.edu

Perry Shen, MD, FACS

Secretary/Treasurer

Email: pshen@wakehealth.edu

Ranjan Sudan, MBBS, FACS

Secretary/Treasurer - Elect

Email: ranjan.sudan@duke.edu

Board of Governors

Anthony Andrew Meyer, MD, FACS

Email:  anthony_meyer@med.unc.edu

Terry Sarantou, MD, FACS

Email:  terry.sarantou@carolinashealthcare.org

Michael Hale Thomason, MD, FACS

Email:  terry.sarantou@carolinashealthcare.org

Raj Pruthi, MD, FACS

Governor, Society of Academic Urologists

Email:  rpruthi@med.unc.edu

Board of Regents

Anthony Atala, MD, FACS

Email: aatala@wakehealth.edu

Mark Weissler, MD, FACS

Past Member

Email:  mark_weissler@med.unc.edu

At Large Member

Meredith Duke, MD

Email: meredith_duke@med.unc.edu

Jonathan Hata, MD, FACS

Email: hata0001@gmail.com

John Stewart, MD, FACS

Email: john.stewart@duke.edu

Committee on Trauma

David Jacobs, MD, FACS

Email: david.jacobs@carolinashealthcare.org

Commission on Cancer

Richard L. White, MD, FACS

Email: richard.white@carolinashealthcare.org

Resident Representative

Brett T. Starr, MD

Email: bretttstarr@gmail.com

Legislative Committee

Matthew Martin, MD, FACS

Email: mattbmartin54@icloud.com

Nominating Committee

Danielle Walsh, MD, FACS, FAAP

Email: Walshd@ecu.edu

Liaisons

J. Wayne Meredith, MD, FACS

General Surgery Society

Email: merediw@wakehealth.edu

David L. Kelly, MD, FACS

Neurosurgery Society

Email: dkelly@wfubmc.edu

Keri Seymour, DO

Bariatric

Email: keri.seymour@duke.edu

Sharon Fekrat, MD, FACS

Ophthalmology Liaison

Email: sharon.fekrat@duke.edu

Wesley C. Fowler Jr, MD, FACS

Gynecology Society

Email: wfowler@med.unc.edu

Gary R. Kuzma, MD, FACS

Orthopedic Society

Email: grkuzma@gmail.com

Ronald Lee Davis, III, MD, FACS

Urology Society

Email: rodavis@wakehealth.edu

Michael J. Goretsky, MD, FACS, FAAP

Pediatrics Representative

Email: michael.goretsky@carolinasheatlhcare.org

Trevor Hackman, MD, FACS

ENT Representative

Email: hackman@med.unc.edu

AWS Representative

Amy Hildreth, MD, FACS

Email: ahildret@wakehealth.edu

Military Representative

Captain Henry Lin, MD, FACS

Email: henry.lin3.mil@mail.mil